GrowingInLOVE

..Sharing with Fellow Christians..

The Wealthy Christ January 26, 2010

So I was watching television this morning, waiting for one of my favorite shows to come on as I get ready for work, as I do every morning.  Kenneth Copeland’s “Believer’s Voice of Victory” program comes on before the show I like to watch, so sometimes I’ll just let the program run while I do my morning routine.  Fredrick K.C. Price was the guest speaker.  I sort of grew up in a Word of Faith/Prosperity church, so I was very familiar with Price.  Now, having left that environment back in late 2008, and having grown and matured in the Word, I decided to listen to him now and compare his teachings to the Bible.  I wasn’t suprised at the fact that the topic was “prosperity”, and I wasn’t surprised at the fact that some things were said that I didn’t agree with and that were not truly biblically sound.  The issue Price focused on  was dispelling the myth that Jesus was poor.  Some problems arose during the course of his arguement in favor of a wealthy Jesus.  Of course, I was upset at the tactic of making scriptures say what he wanted them to say, but what flabbergasted me was a particular comment he made about Christ and His disciples. 

Now, I could have totally misunderstood what Price was trying to say, but I doubt that’s likely.  His argument is that Jesus was wealthy.  He then takes things from scripture to back up this claim.  He pointed out Mark 1:20, where Jesus calls James and John.  He said that since they had hired servants they couldn’t have been poor, since poor people don’t have servants.  I’ll give him that, but he ignored what that passage shows.  They were fishermen who had fishing equipment, a boat, and hired servants, so they weren’t dirt poor, but when Christ called them, they FORSOOK it all, including their father, to follow Him.

He used that to get to his next point, the statement that made me cringe, close my Bible, and say, “Guess I won’t be needing this!”.  With his reasoning, he came to the conclusion that 12 grown men would not have followed a poor man, and that Jesus had to have had something to convince them to hang around….that absolutely floored me.  It wasn’t because He was the Son of God, or because He hand-selected them, or because it was revealed to them who Christ was, it wasn’t even because he performed great miracles.  It was because He was wealthy?…

Disgusting!

Within a very small sentence he sure said a lot about what he thinks of our Savior.  Even if that wasn’t his intent, it was a VERY dangerous statement because of its implications.

 

Leave a Reply

