GrowingInLOVE

..Sharing with Fellow Christians..

Silver and Gold Have I None January 14, 2010

Filed under: My Writings — growinginlove @ 1:03 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Silver and gold have I none, but such as I have, give I thee

 I don’t have great, swelling words or an extensive vocabulary

I don’t have the Bible memorized backwards and forwards from Genesis to Maps

I don’t know the Hebrew and Greek meanings of all the words in the Bible

I don’t have an educational background attained at a seminary or a degree in theology

But I have the Gospel of Jesus Christ

By the working of the Holy Spirit, I confess with my mouth and believe in my heart that Jesus Christ is Lord and Savior

I am daily humbled by my Heavenly Father knowing that He saved me in spite of myself

I rest in the fact that Christ died on a cross, shedding His blood for remission of my sin, and that because He paid the debt that I owed, I no longer have to  

I have salvation in Christ from the wrath of God that is due to all mankind because of sin.  I was driven to my knees in repentance, turning away from the desire to sin and live in wickedness before God.

I cried before God to change me, cleanse me, and to teach me to walk upright before Him

I have the Holy Spirit of the living God on the inside of me

I have a heart of flesh that God has given to me in place of my former heart of stone

A heart that yearns and seeks after God and His righteousness and grieves over sin-my own and others’

It grieves over the lost and the hurting, and over the stubbornness of those who claim to know Christ but whose thoughts, words, and deeds scream otherwise

 Silver and gold have I none, but such as I have, give I thee:

 The truth is that all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.   God, being loving, merciful and extending His grace toward us, sent His Son to be the perfect sacrifice for our sins.  Without accepting, believing, confessing, and trusting in Christ, the Son of God’s, death, burial, and resurrection you will pay for your own sins, being judged and condemned to hell.  It’s not a pretty truth, but it’s truth nonetheless.  Christ said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh to the Father, but by me” (John 14:6).  No good acts or good works can get you in right standing with God apart from Christ.  Also, it doesn’t end with simply believing.  Christ tells us that we must deny ourselves, take up our cross, and follow Him. (Mark 3:34) and if we don’t, we’re not worthy of Him (Matthew 10:38).  We must live our lives for God, follow His will, and walk in His ways. Once we become children of God through faith in Christ, we must get to know Him through prayer and reading His Word and yielding to His Holy Spirit.

Silver and gold have I none, but such as I have, give I thee

What I have is the Gospel of Christ and a love for God.  This is what I have, and this is what I’ll share.

 

Leave a Reply

